top of page
Search
  • rikiseven

TRAVEL FAVORITES

Well, hello everyone! Your favorite McDonalds enthusiast is back at it again! I’ve just returned from weekend trip at beautiful Bled, and I figured I could write a little post about what makeup is tavel-proof (the truth is none hahaha, at least not for my oily mess of a face). But now for serious, I think it will be helpful to some of you if I write some make up essentials for a short trip. I’ll write another post for fashion essentials as well ;).


WHAT ARE THE ESSENTIALS?

1) If you are going somewhere where you are going to spend majority of time in nature, “the less is more” philosophy applies. You see, I like having my flaws covered as the next person, HOWEVER you have to take into consideration the lighting. For me, I find that full coverage foundation looks great indoors, but when the sun hits, it looks awful on my very textured skin. Also, it is very noticeable if you have problems matching your foundation to your neck, sun gives everything away, it’s like that annoying snitch in class everyone hates. I need something light on my skin on such days, just to even out my skin tone. BB cream is the way to go, at the moment I am using Garnier BB cream for oily skin, and it is not super long lasting, but it is fading very nicely and evenly. However, my recommendation is PUPA BB cream, it is a bit more expensive, but it has an amazing coverage and a very natural finish, and it is definitely long-lasting.

2) I got to set my face, because, as mentioned, I am an oily mess, or for my Croatian people, burek. I recommend everyone to set their faces, at least with a little bit of translucent powder because any powder product such as bronzer or blush will blend a lot better over a set, silk canvas. I am using RCMA translucent powder, and it does a good job at setting the makeup.

PICTURE SOURCE: rcmamakeup.net

RCMA No Color Powder
RCMA No Color Powder



3) I need a little bit of life in me, since I am pretty pale, you know, Casper the friendly ghost pale. So, I like using blush to wake me up, and on my trip, to save space, I’ve brought Revolution trio that contains blush, highlighter and bronzer (sadly no longer available, but they have a lot of similar products). The blush in here is beautiful peach color, with a bit of a sheen, so you can skip highlighter if you want (I’m not that kind of person) since this gives you a bit of that “inner glow”.


4) As I mentioned above, this trio comes with highlighter, and a beautiful one if I might add. It is light enough for me, but not in a silver kind of way.


5) I can skip bronzer, concealer and eyeshadow, but I have very sparse brows at their tale, so I need to fill them up to give some frame to my face. Benefit in the shade 4.5 is my current choice, and this is a very very good pencil, but a very very pricey one. A good and cheaper alternative is filling your brows with an eyeshadow similar to the color of your hair roots.


6) Now, it is time for mascara because it opens my eyes and gives the illusion I am someone who hasn’t given up life completely. My favorites are Essence and L’Oreal Lash Paradise, which was my choice on this trip. I don’t fuss with eyeshadow since I am walking around with sunglasses anyway.

PICTURE SOURCE: https://www.lorealparisusa.com

L'Oreal Lash Paradise Mascara
L'Oreal Lash Paradise Mascara


7) At last, it is time for setting the face. Since I have a very peculiar skin, I usually skip a real makeup setting spray on a daily bases, because I feel my skin doesn’t react to it very well. But, if I am using any powder (and If I am wearing makeup, I am, because BUREK, google it) I fell crusty, and I need something to make everything look and feel nice, so water in a spray with a fine mister is a way to go. It makes your highlighter pop ever more, it hydrates your skin and melts everything into your skin without messing up your makeup. Just make sure you leave it to completely dry and that it has a fine mister. I am using Balea (DM brands) setting water, but Evian is also a brand that carries this setting water thing, and it is available almost everywhere.

PICTURE SOURCE: dm.de


Balea
Balea Water Spray

So my recommendations for the trip are (in brackets I’ll write my brand recommendations):

BB cream (PUPA), setting powder (RCMA), blush (REVOLUTION), highlighter (REVOLUTION), brows (BENEFIT), mascara (L’Oreal), setting spray (Balea)

Tools: setting powder brush, blush brush, hihglighter brush


Please, notice these are MINE choices ad my routine. You can see I skipped some steps, like eyeshadow and bronzing, and that is because on a trip where I am spending most of my time out, those are steps that won’t be that noticeable since there is a lot of sun. Sun means sunglasses so no need for excessive eyeshadow look, and bronzer is an extra step I don't need if I am doing a quick makeup. Also, you have to take into consideration which kind of trip you are going on. In my case, this was a short trip with my boyfriend where we are traveling alone. I want to wear makeup because I like it, but the emphasis is on us spending time together in a beautiful place. It is not me in my hometown going on a date or in a club with my friends. It is a short trip with a limited amount of time, so I want to make my makeup application as easy, fast, and travel friendly as possible.

You can do it however you want, but these are my advices and I hope I helped al least one of you with your packing. That is it from me for this post, stay tuned because I’ll soon publish fashion tips for a short trip. Read you later ;)!

5 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page