top of page
Search
  • rikiseven

RUBY WOO

Updated: Feb 19, 2019

Hello holiday season, it’s me. Depression and significant weight gain, but also happiness because food. Circle of life I would say, you can’t have one without the other. Besides mood swings and rather sad Christmas tree (a stack of books and couple of lights), holiday season brings Ruby Woo back in business. Yes, the infamous perfect, blue toned red bullet lipstick. Before continuing with the review, just let me explain what exactly means “blue toned” red. Because right now it probably sounds I am drunk or high…or both. Which I am not, my vice is food and I am a little piglet…talk about digression xD.


Basically, blue toned red is a red with cool undertones, it means it has some blue pigment mixed in it to give it more of a cool base, and in a form of a lipstick this means it makes your teeth look more white. Ruby Woo is a MAC bestseller and one of the most famous reds in general. I finally bought it last year just before New Year’s eve to have that perfect pop of elegance. Its price is around 22€, which is, frankly, a lot. But it is very pigmented so it goes a pretty long way. This review will have different criteria then palette reviews. Price, pigmentation, longevity (durability in previous posts because it takes time to re-educate a peasant) and packaging are staying the same, but I am changing fallout and blendability with application and comfortability. Of course, in the end I’ll give you an average grade, which are the same, from 1 to 5.


Contrary to majority, I think Ruby Woo is an overpriced lipstick living on its former glory. The color is beautiful and it lasts, but in the age of really matte liquid lipsticks which really last forever, Ruby Woo is lackluster to say the least. You’ll get what I mean in grading portion.


PIGMENTATION 5 (it is a really pigmented and beautiful red)


APPLICATION 2 (OMFG, it’s a pain in the ass to put this thing on your lips, it drags your skin, impossible without warming it up and lip liner, it is bleeding everywhere, you better exfoliate your lips like exfoliating your body before important date, if you know what I mean :P)


LONGEVITY 4 (it is not transfer-proof, but if you don’t eat it lasts reasonably long)


COMFORTABILITY 2 (it dries your lips like liquid lipstick without the benefit of putting it on as easily and the longevity of liquid lipstick)


PACKAGING 5 (it’s MAC, their packaging is iconic, sleek matte black eleganzzza)


PRICE 3 (it’s pretty expensive for what it is)


AVAREGE 4 ( I cant believe it got 3,5, which makes an average of 4)



Judging by the average grade, Ruby Woo is really a woower xD. This is why I write little explanations beside my grades, and why I have an average grade based on school system grading. I would personally give it a 3 tops, because my lips prefer something which is easier to apply, I like my makeup application to be stress free. However, someone with a more patient hand and more luscious lips (burn in hell you undeserving angel of beauty) which don’t require too careful of application, would appreciate the color, smell of vanilla and the pigment. That lucky individual wouldn’t bother with “WHY DOES THIS RED SUFFERING REFUSE TO STAY ON MY LIPS, I KNOW THEY ARE THIN BUT GOD DAMMIT” sensation. So, this average makes sense, and have in mind that MAC was staple in makeup, especially their lipsticks, for a long time before all the youtube and instagram and blogging community came to play, and with it an abnormal explosion of new products. Today, MAC lipsticks are still great, especially their nudes (Velvet teddy in particular), but more pigmented mattes like Ruby Woo are a bit overhyped for what they are in today’s makeup industry.


20 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page